GreenAIXSubmit a tool

openDCIM vs Sunbird DCIM

openDCIM vs Sunbird DCIM: Free, open-source web-based DCIM for asset, capacity and power tracking. DCIM suite for data center assets, capacity, power and…

Data Center Sustainability · both listings verified

Field-by-field comparison of openDCIM and Sunbird DCIM
FieldopenDCIM

Free, open-source web-based DCIM for asset, capacity and power tracking.

Sunbird DCIM

DCIM suite for data center assets, capacity, power and environmental monitoring.

Pricing modelFreeSubscription
Pricing publishedPublic pricingPublic pricing
Starting priceFreeUSD 6 / month
LicensingOpen sourceProprietary
Pricing detailsGPL v3 licensed and provided free of charge; the project asks for donations to cover domain registration, hosting and development costs.Public per-module pricing: $5.50 per node per month ($66.00 annually), and $19.50 or $27.50 per cabinet per month ($234.00 or $333.00 annually), with two node licences included per cabinet; annual subscription or perpetual licence plus maintenance, and a free 30-day trial.
Free tierYesNo
Assets covered
PlatformsWeb, On-premiseWeb, On-premise
Region supportGlobalGlobal
ComplianceNot statedNot stated
API availableNoNo
Last verified2026-10-222026-10-22

Editor's take on openDCIM

Fits facilities or IT teams with LAMP skills that need inventory, space, power and cooling tracking for data centre rooms and are willing to run and patch the stack themselves. The trade-off is operational load rather than licence cost: deployment is on-premise Apache, MySQL and PHP, with updates, backups and SNMP polling handled in-house, and no API is recorded, so automation relies on the PDU and UPS integrations the project lists. Teams needing vendor support contracts, hosted operations or programmatic APIs should treat it as a starting point and compare commercial DCIM.

Read the openDCIM listing

Editor's take on Sunbird DCIM

Aimed at data centre teams that want modular DCIM covering asset, capacity, power, energy and connectivity, bought module by module. The recorded advantage is price transparency: per-node and per-cabinet subscription figures are published, starting at $5.50 per node per month, with perpetual licensing plus maintenance also sold and a 30-day trial offered. The trade-off is delivery shape, since platforms are recorded as Web or on-premise with no API listed, so heavily automated environments may need extra integration work. Buyers wanting one enterprise-wide bundle price should ask sales first.

Read the Sunbird DCIM listing

Judgement is written by the editor. Paid placements never change the ranking or the recorded field values.

All comparisons